Morning routines at our house are usually pretty calm. I have my one beautiful daughter, Grace who is 7 and will turn 8 in November. She starts school every morning at 9:05 and the bus picks her up at 8:40. This means we go out to the bus stop at about 8:30. This gives us time to talk with the other kids, moms and enjoy the weather.
I say usually calm because we do run into the problem with showering. Grace is to the point where she enjoys to take a shower and does a good job on her own. She has pretty long hair so it took awhile before she "mastered" getting her hair completely cleaned and rinsed. Now we are dealing with the problem of time. If Grace could, I bet she would stay in that shower until every last bit of hot water was squeezed out. Luckily we have not tried that yet! I can not get that girl to take a shower under 20 or 25 minutes. It is so frustrating.
Reasons why it frustrates me:
- The money it is wasting.
- The time she is spending.
- The pure fact she has been told at least 100 times to take shorter showers.
I know Grace does not do it on purpose, obviously. She is simply a kid who is having fun singing, laughing and really just having fun while getting clean. The problem that occurs is it making her late in the morning. The is no reason to take showers over 25 minutes. And she has been timed and told to take shorter ones and still has problems.
We have even tried taking showers at night. This helped solve the problems of running late in the morning and once or twice she took shorter shower, but usually they were still super long.
I am asking everyone...Do you struggle with something similar in your home? Maybe not having to do with showering, but maybe something with time management.
I do appreciate any suggestions. I have mentioned it to a few people and they have just looked at me like it isn't a big deal. Trust me, it is in our house. After 6 months to 1 year of your child consistently showering on their own. You then notice a major increase in the water bill. We don't have a pool, no toilet issues nothing else that would cause a spike in the bill. You then know that this is just wasted money basically going down the drain!!
On the other hand there is this part of you that is super proud of your child for showering on their own. I don't want to make a huge issue out of it because she is so awesome. If only she would get in it out. lol
Thanks so much for reading!









